Mutual Attraction

It seems a long time ago

that we climbed to the spiralling top

of Switzerland’s Geneva campanile,

the name of the church I forget,

(do you remember?); I remember

the intervale between the rocketing

Jet d’eau in the tranquil Lake’s water,

the wind-gap of the concrete vault

below our feet; I never told you

(and it has been lost since)

that I wrote a poem about you

that could only be expressed

in magnificent, death-resulting leaps

(how romantic!); there were no steps

from towers, just a slow moving

in different ways from one another,

your Pisa to my Suurhusen,

until the space between reached

the extreme of square law, inversed;

but did you know there are towers

separately leaning together (Bologna)?

I know it is too late (isn’t it?),

but tilting from similar ground

I could whisper over the drop between us

words in my best Italian for building bridges.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment