Ferry to Tiree

Ferry to Tiree

 

At once, I was Charles Arrowby

holding forth on the art of food combinations –

English mustard with vanilla ice-cream

Washed down with a bottle of rosé

 

then Charles in ‘Pipistrelle’,

a foil for my companion’s art of the bat philosophising

with – it flies, we watch it fly, it is avoidable

 

and the Charles. Himself. Dickens! –

I lecture from a homemade plinth at Hampstead Heath

‘On the art of saving Fallen women’

 

until I very nearly lose my senses

down a one-way street of palindrome (A compulsive art).

Repeat (not ad infinitum) after me –

94 toL fo gniyrC ehT samohT nohcnyP.

 

 

* Charles, a character in ‘Pipistrelle’ – a poem in Theories and Apparitions

by Mark Doty

 

** Charles Arrowby – a character in The Sea, The Sea

by Iris Murdoch

 

This poem first appeared in Orbis 156

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment